Jane has suggested we implement full disk encryption on our laptops. Our organization on average loses 25 laptops per year and currently it costs us $10,000 per laptop, of that $1,000 is the cost of the laptop and the $9,000 is from non encrypted data being exposed. How much can the countermeasure cost per year and we would break even with the current ALE?
CBK 1: Security and Risk Management
Source: ThorTeaches.com practice tests
B: The Laptop ($1,000) + PII ($9,000) per loss (AV), It is a 100% loss, it is gone (EF), Loss per laptop is $10,000 (AV) x 100% EF) = (SLE), The organization loses 25 Laptops Per Year (ARO), The annualized loss is $250,000 (ALE).